Navigation Menu

Click the "+" to see inside a chapter or use the search to the right.

.

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Disclaimer: in order to ensure we make the right decisions for the future of the application, we may change or remove the information that appears here at any time

Coming soon to ExamDeveloper

 

Branching configurations in a review workflow

Available from1901 (approximately January 2019)
Rollout paceGradual rollout - users will have visibility over several releases
Last updated 

In ExamDeveloper it is currently possible to set up a review workflow that forces a reviewer to do one of two things:

  • Accept the question, which moves a question to the next state in the workflow
  • Return the question, which moves a question to any previous state in the workflow.

We will enhance the configurability around this decision making process, to give managers greater control over where their reviewers can send questions in the workflow:

  • ‘Accept’ and ‘Reject’ will be renamed ‘Advance’ and ‘Return’ respectively, in order to indicate the direction that an item is travelling through the workflow.
  • For each review state, project managers will be able to configure the ‘outcomes’ that are available to the reviewer when they decide to advance or return an item, for example:
    • Allowing reviewers to skip a state when advancing a question (to other review states, validate, complete and obsolete).

    • Restricting the reviewer to a specific state or states when returning a question; or offer no ability to return a question.

    • Requiring a reviewer to add a comment when advancing a question.

    • Configuring whether the reviewer should decide to retain statistics or not (i.e., automatically retain them without offering the choice.)

  • If multiple reviewers are required to advance or return a question, then the last reviewer required to trigger the state change will continue to choose the outcome.
  • A reviewer will be able to modify a question during review and save their changes without that modification automatically counting as advancing the question.
  • Question history  / user tracking will reflect the outcomes and path that a question took through the review workflow at the time, even if the project’s review workflow configuration is modified later.
  • The user tracking tab will continue to reflect the review workflow in the order that it is sequenced, meaning:
    • If an outcome returns a question to a previous state in the workflow, then user tracking is reset back to the new state.
    • If an outcome advances a question through the workflow, and a state is skipped, then the latest question revision will show that skipped state as ‘Not reviewed’.
  • Existing review workflow configurations will continue to behave as they currently do, but can be updated to take advantage of the new functionality.

  

Bulk remove Exhibits & change Split-screen Configuration

 

Available from

1901 (approximately January 2019)

Rollout pace

Full rollout - users will have immediate visibility as a result of upgrade

Currently it is possible to add Exhibits through Batch Edit and not bulk remove them. With this work, Batch Edit feature is being enhanced to allow ability to 

  • Remove standalone exhibits in bulk
  • Change Split-screen exhibits configuration in bulk 

Item check-out and near real-time notifications

 

Available from

1902 (approximately February 2019)

Rollout pace

Gradual rollout - users may have visibility over several releases

Last updated10-January-2019

Whenever a user starts editing an item today in ExamDeveloper, that item is automatically ‘checked out’ (or ‘locked’) so that no other users can make modifications.

We are enhancing this mechanism so that reviewers and project managers can manually check-out an item for a fixed period of time, preventing it from being edited by others (even while they are logged out.)

  • Only one user can check out an item at any point in time; while checked-out, no other user can edit it (but they can still add comments.)

  • When an existing item is opened for modification, it will be automatically checked-out until the system checks it in as a result of the user doing one of the following:

    • Save their changes and are redirected away from the modify page.

    • Leave the editor page for more than five minutes.

    • User logged out through inactivity.

    • Change the state of the item.

  • On the modify page, the user will be able to see that they hold the check-out for that item.

  • When another user tries to edit a checked-out item, they will receive an error telling them who holds the check-out.

  • Users on the Review, Validate or Examine questions page will receive notifications in near real-time when the item they are viewing is checked out or in by another user.

  • A reviewer will be able to check-out / check-in an item manually on the review questions page:

    • This is performed on an item-by-item basis.

    • A reviewer can only check-in items they have checked-out.

    • Enabling/disabling reviewer check-out will be configurable per review state in the project’s review configuration, and can be configured to last for a day, week or month before the system automatically checks them back in (the reviewer will receive an email notification the day before this occurs.)

  • A reviewer will also be able to see how many other reviewers are viewing the same item as them on the review questions page - updated in near real-time - even if they don’t have the check-out.

  • A project manager will be able to check-out / check-in an item manually on the examine questions page:

    • They are not bound to any time limit like reviewers are.

    • They can check-in any other users’ items from this page, and will need to take this step in order to make the item editable again, since the existing popup overrides in other areas of the system will be removed.

  • All manual check-outs will persist beyond logout until the period configured, but check-in still automatically occurs when saving an item in an edit screen or changing its state.

  • A new page for the project manager to view and check-in other users’ items in bulk will be available in the manage users area.

Button changes on edit item pages

Available from

1902 or 1903 (approximately February or March 2019)

Rollout pace

Full rollout - users will have immediate visibility as a result of the upgrade

Last updated 

We are making some changes to the existing button on our Edit Question pages, to streamline some existing functionality and terminology:

 Review Question  Modify page

  • Remove the Reset button
  • Remove the Finish Later button
  • Rename the Cancel button to Exit

Examine Question → Modify page 

  • Remove the Rest button
  • Rename the Cancel button to Exit

Develop Question → Write Question page

  • Remove the Revert changes button
  • Rename the Save changes button to Save
  • Rename the Save and Finish Later button to Save and Exit

 Add/Edit Case → Write Question page 

  • Rename Save changes button to Save
  • Rename Finish case button to Submit All
  • Rename Return to Case button to Exit to Case

Add/Edit Case page

  • Rename Cancel button to Exit
  • Rename Save button to Save All

Reference editor changes

 

Available from

To be determined

Rollout pace

Gradual rollout - users may gain visibility over several releases

Last updated 

This change enhances the overall layout and alignment of the reference editor, as well as allows users to add up to 15,000 characters to the existing Item/Key/Distractor ‘component’ field (up from 100 characters.)

Example of existing layout:

Example of new layout:



  • No labels