Select the Manage → Setting → Review Workflow menu.
Allow users to review their own Questions
Select Yes to allow authors to review items they have written.
Number of reviewers needed to advance a Question
The number of Reviewers who must advance an item in its current form before it is approved. Allowed values range from 0 to 15; the default is 3.
Setting this to 0 causes the review process to be entirely skipped.
Number of reviewers needed to return a Question
The number of Reviewers who must return an item in its current form before it is returned to the author. Allowed values range from 1 to 15; the default is 3.
Require reviewers to classify unclassified Questions to level
Choose Yes if Reviewers should ensure the item is correctly classified, and then select the level to which the item should be classified from the drop-down list.
Lowest Level in the drop-down list indicates that in a Blueprint blueprint of varying depth, the lowest level must be selected irrespective of the depth.
When Yes is selected for Require reviewers to classify unclassified Questions to level setting on the Review Workflow page and an item with one of the Review States having Unclassified Blueprint or Blueprint level lower than the one specified in the drop-down setting on that page is opened on the Examine Questions page, then the following error message is displayed in red text. The State of such items cannot be changed to anything other than one of the available Review States or to the Obsolete state.
Require Comment on modifying Question
Select Yes if the Reviewer should record/explain changes made on the Create/Edit Question page.
Allow Reviewers to Edit
Allow or disallow users with Reviewer permission to edit the following areas: Item Text (Stem and Option text), Blueprint, Metadata, and Reference.
Each of these areas has check boxes next to them, which grant edit permissions to Reviewers if selected and deny them if not selected. All the check boxes are enabled by default, thus allowing Reviewers to edit all these areas unless manually deselected by the Project Manager.
Note A Project Manager is also bound by the permissions of a Reviewer on the pages affected by the above settings. Warning
An item cannot be modified by a Reviewer if all the check boxes are not selected and an error message is displayed in red text.
A Reviewer is able to partially modify an item if check boxes against some of the above items are not selected, thus allowing modifications to only certain areas of the item. A message in red text informs the Reviewer about areas that cannot be edited.
If Metadata metadata and Blueprint blueprint are set to not editable, then a disallowed icon (red circle icon with a diagonal slash across it) is displayed just after the configuration name. Moving the mouse cursor over these icons shows the message Manager has disabled editing this content within the current review state.
An error message in red is displayed if you try to disallow Reviewers to edit Metadata in Review Workflow when it is set to Mandatory under Manage → Settings → Metadata. If there are multiple review states, then at least one review state must allow the Reviewers to edit metadata.
When the check box next to Blueprint is removed in Review Workflow, meaning it cannot be edited by Reviewers, and you try to enforce a Blueprint blueprint level against Require Reviewers to classify unclassified Questions to level, then you get an error message in red.
When you clear the check box for Reference in Review Workflow so that Reviewers should not be able to edit references in items, you will get an error in red if it has been set as mandatory (check box next to Questions must have references is enabled) in the Questions tab of Manage → Settings → Configuration.
Show 'Retain Statistics' pop-up warning for modified items
The pop-up to confirm retaining statistics while trying to save an item with statistics after modifying for a review state is not shown, if this check box is not selected, and the statistics are retained.
This check box is selected by default, meaning the pop-up to confirm retaining statistics appears while modifying items with statistics.
This check box is grayed out and the statistics are retained while saving an item with statistics after modifying for a review state, if the Show 'Retain Statistics' pop-up warning for modified items check box at the Project level is not selected.
Allow reviewers to check-out items
Allow or disallow users with Reviewer permission to manually check out an item for 1 day, 1 week, or 1 month.
This setting enables a Check-out button on the Review Question page. When the reviewer clicks the Check-out button, the item remains checked out for the number of days specified in the drop-down list, unless the user checks in the item. ExamDeveloper sends out an email reminder one day prior to automatically checking in the item. If the user does not check in the item before the expiration date, ExamDeveloper checks in the item at 3 am server time on the expiration date.
This manual check-out prevents other users from editing the item as long as it is checked out. When they get to the Review Questions page for an item that is checked out, a message notifies the reviewer which user has the item checked out.
Outcomes The Outcomes list what happens when you advance or return an item. There can be multiple advance and return states. Note Only Project Managers can access this page to modify these settings.
- After selecting all information, click Update to save changes or Cancel to discard changes.
Add Review States to a
Once Review States have been added to the Item Bank, you can add them to a project. See Review State for details on adding a review state to an Item Bank.
- Click the Select review states button. The page with a list of Available Review states in the current Item Bank and the Current Order of the review states is displayed.
- Select the check boxes for the review states you wish to include in your project workflow.
- To save changes click Save, or to discard the changes click Cancel.
When you add or move review states, a message notifies you how the review states have changed as a result of saving the changes. In this example, previously Review One had two possible outcomes: Return, which sent the item back to the Original Author, and Advance, which sent the item to the Validate state. After adding Review Two and Review Three there are still two possible outcomes: Return, which sends the item back to the Original Author, and Advance, which now sends the item on to Review Two. See Add Review Outcomes below for details on how to add more review outcomes.
If only one review state is configured, by default the Advance outcome moves the item to the Validate state, and the Return outcome moves the item back to the original author. If three review states are configured, by default each of the review states are configured as follows:
- Review One: Advance moves the item to Review Two, and Return moves the item to the Original Author
- Review Two: Advance moves the item to Review Three, and there are two possible Return outcomes - the item can be returned to Review One, or to the Original Author
- Review Three: Advance moves the item to the Validate state, and there are three possible Return outcomes - the item can be returned to Review Two, Review One, or to the Original Author
Outcomes can be added or deleted from each review state.
- Select Select review states. The page with the list of Available Review states and the Current Order for that Review State is displayed.
- Deselect the check box beside the Review State you would like to disable for the current Project project and click Save. The Review State is disabled for the current Project project and is no longer visible on the Review Workflow page.
- Then click Update to configure the changes.
If the Review State you want to delete has any assignments, it shows an error message: Please delete the assignments for the states to delete.