Date available on Pearson VUE Hosted Server: Thursday, February 21, 2019
Potential date available for Remote Deployment Installations:
|When does this happen?||Outcome|
|Examine Questions||Project Managers||Display message that question has been updated when viewing the question on the Examine Questions page||Viewers examining a question are notified that the question has been updated by another user||A near real-time notification is presented to users examining a question if another user updates the question while they are viewing it. The person examining the question can click the Refresh the page link in the message to load the latest data.||Enhancement|
|Review Workflow||Project Managers||Allow users to manually check-out questions||When Allow reviewers to check-out items is selected, the Check-out button appears on the Review Questions page.|
A new Allow reviewers to check-out items field was added to the Review Workflow page. Project managers can allow reviewers to manually check out a question for 1 day, 1 week, or 1 month. When this option is selected, a Check-out button appears on the Review Questions page.
This setting may be configured for each Review State.
|Review Questions||Reviewers||Allow users to manually check-out questions||When Allow reviewers to check-out items is selected, the Check-out button appears on the Review Questions page.|
Reviewers may click the Check-out button to check out the question and lock it to prevent other users from editing the question. Reviewers do not have to be actively editing the question to lock the question. The Check-out button changes to Check-in when the question has been locked for editing. The question remains locked for the specified time period even if the changes to the question are saved. The question will be checked in at 3 am on the day that the check-out limit expires unless the Reviewer changes the state of the question by Advancing or Returning the question, or if they manually check-in the question.
Other users viewing the question from the Review Questions page receive a real-time item review notification that the question is checked out along with the date and time stamp for when the question was locked.
The Project Manager has the ability to override the check-out from the Examine Questions page.
Note: If a question is checked out and the Review Workflow configuration is set to 1 week, if the Project Manager changes the configuration to 1 day, the question that is checked out honors the time period of 1 week as long as it remains checked out.
|Review Questions||Reviewers||Allow users to manually check-in questions||When Allow reviewers to check-out items is selected, the Check-in button appears on the Review Questions page if the reviewer has checked-out the question.|
If a reviewer has manually checked-out a question by clicking the Check-out button, they can click the Check-in button to take the lock off the question.
Other users viewing the question from the Review Questions page that can see the real-time item review notification that the question is checked out will see the notification disappear once the question is checked-in.
Note: If the manual check-out buttons are not enabled, the check-in button may appear on the Review Questions page if a user was editing a question and then clicked the Cancel button. Any changes they were making to the question are not saved, but the question remains checked-out. Users can click the Check-in button to manually check-in this question.
|Examine Questions||Project Managers||Allow Project Managers to manually check-out questions||Click the Check-out button on the Examine Questions page|
Project Managers may manually check-out questions from the Examine Questions page to prevent other users from editing the question. A Check-out button appears on the Examine Questions page.
When project managers click the Check-out button, the question is locked for 99 years unless one of the following actions occur:
The system does not automatically check-in the question when it has been manually checked out in the following scenarios:
The following actions occur when project managers manually check-out questions:
|Examine Questions||Project Managers||Allow Project Managers to manually check-in questions||Click the Check-in button on the Examine Questions page|
Project Managers may manually check-in questions that have been check-out by by themselves or by other users. Questions can be checked-in from the Examine Questions page.
Write Case Questions,
Modify Questions in Review,
Modify Questions from Examine Questions page,
|Auto check-out a question||Open an existing Question for editing.|
When users open questions to edit them, an automatic check-out (or lock) for the question occurs and a message is displayed at the top of the page stating, "You checked out item 12345 on MMM DD, YYYY at HH:MM." This message appears on the Write Questions, Write Case Questions, Modify Questions from the Review Questions workflow, and Modify Questions from the Examine Questions page.
If another user tries to edit the question while it is checked out, a message is displayed at the top of the page stating, "John Doe checked out item 12345 on June 28, 2018 at 13:08." This message appears on the Examine Questions and the Review Questions page. The Advance, Return, Modify, and Return to Author buttons are disabled on the Review Questions and Examine Questions pages as long as the question is checked-out.
On the edit question pages, the auto checkout is affected by the buttons in the following ways:
Write Case Questions,
Modify Questions in Review,
Modify Questions from Examine Questions page
|Question Check-in after system timeout||when question is checked out on an edit question page and the system times the user out after inactivity.|
When users have questions checked out on an edit question page, if the system times out, the questions are automatically checked in. This prevents questions from remaining checked out without a user actively editing a question.
Once the question is checked in, other users can open the question for editing.
Write Case Question,
|Check-in if state changes||Change the state of a question that is checked out|
If you change the state of a question that is checked-out, the system automatically checks-in the question.
The following pages/scenarios automatically check-in the question when you change the state:
Write Case Question
|Check in and check out notifications for Cases and Case questions have been added||When editing Cases, bulk locking was added.|
Question locking for Cases and Case questions were added to prevent other users from overwriting changes to the case and questions. Bulk locking for the case was added.
When you open a Case to view or edit it, all the case questions and exhibit questions are checked out as a group. A message at the top of the page identifies all the questions are checked out in the case.
All the questions are checked in 5 minutes after navigating away from the Add/Edit Case page, or if the system times out even if the user is still on the Add/Edit Case page.
If the exhibit is locked, a message notifies users who checked out the exhibit and includes a list of the question IDs along with the timestamp when it was checked out.
When adding or removing a list of questions to a Case, any questions in the list that are locked are skipped and a message notifies the user who has the question checked out along with the time stamp.