Navigation Menu

Click the "+" to see inside a chapter or use the search to the right.

.

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 70 Next »

As Project Manager you can use the Manage Users page to: 

You can grant different access rights to users by managing rolesrole assignments, and assigning work to users. The creation and management of Committees can also be performed using this page.

Access the Manage Users page

  • Select the Manage  Users menu.

    Icon

    You can sort the list by First name, Last name, Username, Email address, Last Login, or Status by clicking on the respective column header. Clicking once sorts the list in ascending order; clicking a second time sorts the list in descending order.

 

The Manage Users page includes the following details:

Feature

Description

The Search box allows you to search for users based on first name, last name, username, or email address. The search results appear in real time as you type in the search text.

  • Users can copy and paste space delimited values into the search box (multiple leading/trailing spaces, and spaces before/after/between phrases are allowed)
  • Once values are entered in the Search box, the list is filtered and displays values that match content in any of the following fields:
    • First name
    • Last name
    • Username
    • Email
  • A filter can match one or more columns at the same time (e.g., first name and email), however, those records MUST continue to match the criteria of the Show Users (All users, Active users, Inactive users) and Show (In this organization, In this project, Not in this project) drop-down filters to display the results.
  • Filters are not case sensitive
  • In the example below, the entered filter "rev user" matches a first name, username, and last name
The Batch actions drop-down allows users to Activate or Deactivate selected users in one step.
 

The Activate option appears if the selection does not include any retired users. Similarly, the Deactivate option does not appear if the selection does not include any Active users.

Upon clicking Activate/Deactivate, the relevant confirmation prompt is presented to confirm the action to be performed. 

By default, Active as well as Inactive users are listed.

To list only Active or only Inactive users, click the Show: All users drop-down and select the appropriate option.

By default, all the users from the project are listed.

To list users belonging to the organization, or only users not belonging to the current project, click the Show: In this project drop-down and select the appropriate option.

Edit the user’s details. The user information appears in the Add User section above the list, where it can be modified and saved by clicking Save. If the modifications are to be discarded, this can be done by clicking Cancel.

The More drop-down allows you to deactivate/activate, reset password, reset answers to security questions, reset 2-Factor Authentication, view the user profile, or delete the user. The action is performed after the action is confirmed in the confirmation prompt that appears next.

  • Clicking Deactivate retires the user. This only appears if the user is Active.
  • Clicking Activate activates the user. This only appears if the user is Retired.
  • Clicking Impersonate allows you to login as the user. See Impersonate a user below for details.
  • Clicking Reset password sends the user an email with the link to reset their password.
  • Clicking Reset answers to security questions resets the user's answers to the authentication questions and he/she is required to answer them again upon logging in the next time.
  • Clicking 2-factor authentication reset resets the 2-Factor Authentication data of the user so that he/she is required to fill the information afresh upon logging in the next time. This option is only visible if 2-Factor Authentication is enabled for the application, for the Item Bank to which the current project belongs, and also for the selected user.
  • Clicking View profile displays the user profile with various details in a pop-up window as shown below.
  • Clicking Delete deletes the user from the system. **Note: This is only possible if the user you are attempting to delete hasn't written to the database**
     
First nameThe user's first name.

Last name

The user’s last name. The list is sorted in ascending order by last name when the page is loaded.

Username

The user’s username.

EmailThe user's email address.

Last Login

Date and time of the user’s last login. This appears as "Never logged in" for users who have never logged in.

StatusThe current status of the user. This can either be Active or Retired.

 

Impersonate a user

You can login as another user by selecting the More → Impersonate menu option. The Impersonate menu is only available when the user is assigned to the current project.

  1. Locate the user in the list you want to impersonate.
  2. Click the More button for that user and select Impersonate.
  3. A confirmation message is displayed and the Project Manager can impersonate as the selected user by clicking Impersonate from the menu.

    Icon

    It is not possible to impersonate a user that does not have any assigned role in any active project. An error message is displayed if the user does not have any assigned role in any active project.

    Icon

    Although it is possible to login as a different user by clicking this button, the user to which the login is switched (impersonated) by this action, cannot change the project selection to anything other than the current project. Clicking any other project displays a warning message in red text.

    Icon

    ExamDeveloper Inc. (EDI) users assigned as Item Bank Managers of non-EDI Item Banks can use this functionality to login as any user (EDI or non-EDI) from the current non-EDI Project and also to login as any other EDI user not assigned with the current non-EDI Project (visible when Show all users in this organization drop-down menus are selected).

 

Granting project access is not enough

Icon
Granting project access is not enough to allow people to interact with a project. All users must be given a Role with the project. Roles can be assigned to a project from the Assign Roles page. In addition, if the user is only assigned permission to either Write, Review, or Validate items, they also must be given an item assignment. To assign items to users, please use the Assign Work to Users page.

 

 

  • No labels